Gospel Learning On Your Lap

lapbooking, LDS, homeschooling

May Week 4: When I take the sacrament, I renew my baptismal covenants.

on May 19, 2012

This weeks minit book is also an extention of sharing time.  It is suggested to “Make wordstrips with phrases from the sacrament prayers that explain what we promise when we take the sacrament and what Heavenly Father promises us (see Doctrine and Covenants 20:77, 79).”  After reading the prayers, have the children stand in the correct order with their word strips. I have made the suggested wordstrips into cursive tracing strips.  If you laminate the wordstrips first, your child had a little “white board” to work with and can practice over and over with a dry ease marker.  The other option would be to just do it once with a pencil and call it good.  Tip:  if you don’t have a laminator, just cover the paper with packing tape or contact paper.

Click on image to download from 4 sharedword strips copy

Just a note:  I have 3 preschoolers so obviously my brain and creativity are geared toward their ages, but I’m trying to think outside of my little box.  I really want to include all Primary age children with these activities.  I’m leaving a lot up to you as a parent though because you know best how to make these minit books more or less challenging to accommodate your child’s skill level.  Any suggestions or requests are greatly appreciated!

Does the little blue bubble on the pocket look like a gumball?  That’s what I was going for!

Click on image to download from 4sharedwordstrips 2 copy

I hope this has been a fun lapbook for your children.  I believe in these principles and am thankful for their guidance in my life.

CTR!

LeeAnn

3 responses to “May Week 4: When I take the sacrament, I renew my baptismal covenants.

  1. Wendy says:

    Thanks again! I have a 2nd grader and he will be excited at the chance to practice cursive. Not sure if I did something wrong but when I click on the pages they both bring up wordstrips.2 and I am not able to get the first page. What am I doing wrong? Thanks!

    • Thanks for letting me know about the error! I really count on feedback like yours to make my creations more useful. I’ll dig up the other wordstrip. It might be pretty buried with my computer crashing again and recovering from a fun Disney vacation, but I can easily make a new one!

    • Finally fixed the link. Hope it’s not to late!

Leave a Reply

