Gospel Learning On Your Lap

lapbooking, LDS, homeschooling

May Week 1: As I repent, I can be forgiven.

on May 1, 2012

I mentioned earlier that I really loved the object lesson suggestion sin the Sharing Time Outline.  Each child is given a pebble to put in his/her shoe.  The pebble represents sin. Then have them remove the pebble, and ask how repenting and receiving Heavenly Father’s forgiveness is like
removing the pebble from our shoe.  This lesson took me back to my mission.  I served in France (oo la la).  While walking along the provincial rue, I had the tiniest pebble in my shoe. I had heard this object lesson before (as well as the one with a backpack full of rocks) and I mulled it over and over while this tiny pebble was irritating my every step.  Finally I couldn’t take it any longer and stopped to take off my shoe.  I was shocked to see how that tiny little irritating pebble had made a huge hole in my stocking.  Why didn’t I stop sooner?  Why did I think I could hang on and take care of it later?  It’s the same parallel with sin.  We will feel so much better and ruin less things if we follow these steps of repentance without hesitation.

Instructions:  Download from 4shared by clicking on image.  Print on cardstock.  Color then cut out shoe and pebbles.  Read the scriptures together and try to match the scripture to the correct pebble.  Then put them in order from beginning to end.  For pre-readers you may want to number each pebble.  Laminate the pebbles (clear packing tape or contact paper will do the trick)  Glue the bottom and side edges of the shoe into the file folder.  Keep the top open to form a pocket in which to store the stones.

steps of repentance copy

You’ll want to prepare the song minit book early in the month to allow plenty of practice time.  The song  is “When I am baptized” CS 103.  (better known around here as the rainbow song).  The instructions are on the printable, but get excited—It’s a SQUASH book!!  Gee I like those! This is a little variation from the Squash book I made here, but I know you must be smart and will figure it out.

If you want to hear the tune to the song, visit. the LDS church Music interactive player.

Click on image to download from 4shared

Song copy

Happy scrap-lapbooking!

CTR!

LeeAnn

2 responses to “May Week 1: As I repent, I can be forgiven.

  1. gabbynikita says:

    When I try to download the Steps of Repentance page, it comes up as an unrecognizable file, which it will not allow me to download. Is there a way to change it to a pdf to make it possible to download? My girls and I love these lapbooks!

    • Hi Thanks for letting me know about the problem. I haven’t worked on this project for awhile, but I’ll do my best to dig thru my files to find a better link. I’m glad you are enjoying these lap books.

Leave a Reply

