Gospel Learning On Your Lap

lapbooking, LDS, homeschooling

May CTR Lapbook: I Choose the Right When I Am Baptized and Confirmed a Member of the Church

on May 1, 2012

Welcome and welcome back to Gospel Learning On Your Lap!  My goal is to help Ladder Saint parents and teachers teach and reinforce the gospel of Jesus Christ in a fun and memorable way.  Lapbooking is a very visual and hands-on  way of retaining information.  Primary aged children need a lot of practice refining their motor skills.  They need practice cutting, writing, coloring, and folding.  They also need to practice critical thinking such as spatial orientation, patterning, sorting, and memorizing.  Why not working on all of these essentials while talking about the gospel of Jesus Christ? 

This months theme is: I choose the right when I am baptized and confirmed a member of the Church.

The Sharing Time Outline has some excellent object lessons for the Primary Presidency to present to the children during Sharing Time.  Here is the official link to the 2012 Primary Sharing Time Outline

Sharing Time Outline 2012

These lessons were the inspiration for most of the minit books this month.  One of my favorite examples is putting a pebble in every child’s shoe.  This pebble represents sin.  It becomes uncomfortable very quickly.  With this thought I made the “Steps of Repentance” minit book, teaching the 6 steps of repentance.  I’ll share that and many other minit books in the following posts:

Week 1: As I repent, I can be forgiven.

Week 2: When I am baptized and confirmed, I am following Jesus’s example.

Week 3: The Holy Ghost can help me.

Week 4: When I take the sacrament, I renew my baptismal covenants.

But first, we need to prepare your file folder.  Please visit this past post to learn the basics of lapbooking: Basics

Here is the Cover (click Image to download from 4shared)

cover copyIsn’t it adorable?  Just wait for the other minit books!

Print out the “Funstuf Hidden picture” below for the back of your lapbook.  Typically, I like to laminate these and have the kids use a dry erase marker or dry erase crayons.  This time I may just have them color it and point to the hidden pictures instead of circling them.  I’ll just add that I loved these hidden pictures when I was a kid!

March 2003 Friend

I haven’t completed all of the minit books, but I wanted to get you started.  So no single download for May yet.  Hang in there and come visit again soon!

CTR!

LeeAnn

Technorati Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

